School of Pharmacy Celebrates at 2016 Annual Alumni/Senior Awards Gala

Members of the classes of 2016 and 1966 came together with faculty and friends at the School of Pharmacy’s annual Alumni/Senior Awards Gala, held Saturday, May 7 at Town and Gown.

A decades-old tradition that acknowledges the achievements of the graduating class, the event is hosted each year by the School’s Alumni Association, whose president, Dolly Harris, spoke on behalf of the group. Associate Professor Michael Z. Wincor was master of ceremonies, and the evening began on a resounding note provided by the Trojan Marching Band.

View photos from the event here.

The 2016 Outstanding Alumna Award was given posthumously to Dr. Kathleen Johnson, Vice Dean of USC School of Pharmacy. Associate Professor Steven Chen, Chair of the Titus Family Department of Clinical Pharmacy, presented the award to Dr. Johnson’s husband Wynnsan Moore. Professor R. Pete Vanderveen, Dean of the School of Pharmacy from 2005-2015, received the Honorary Alumnus Award, presented by Interim Dean Glen L. Stimmel. Receiving the Preceptor/Site of the Year Award was Ken Thai of K & B Pharmacy Associates, Inc.

In addition to these awards, 37 student awards were presented throughout the evening. Among them, the Merck Academic Excellence Award was given to three students with the highest grade point averages: Seh Jin Rhee, Christine Lee, and Joyce Lau. Class President Kimberly Moore spoke on behalf of the Class of 2016.

Seven members of the Class of 1966 attended, and each member of the Class of ’66 was presented a medal marking their 50 years in the pharmacy profession.